Cricket NewsWorld CupKL Rahul Out, Gill and Rinku in Reserves: Check who made it...

KL Rahul Out, Gill and Rinku in Reserves: Check who made it to the India T20 World Cup Squad 2024

Team India has announced their squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup. The BCCI announced the squad after a meeting between Jay Shah, Ajit Agarakar, and Rohit Sharma. Team India chooses a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

The team will be led by Rohit Sharma, who is assisted by Hardik Pandya as vice-captain of the team. Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav and Yashashwi Jaiswal are Team India’s top-order batsmen. 

Sanju Samson and Rishabh Pant are picked as wicket-keeping options. Shivam Dube is also included in the team as a hard-hitting all-rounder to accompany Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja down the order. 

India has chosen a spin-heavy bowling attack, picking Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal with Jasprit Bumrah, Siraj and Arshdeep as fast bowling options. Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan are also included in the squad as reserve players. 

Rohit Sharma

India T20 World Cup Squad 2024 

Players NameRole
Rohit Sharma (captain)Batter
Virat KohliBatter
Yashasvi JaiswalBatter
Suryakumar YadavBatter
Rishabh PantWicketkeeper
Sanju SamsonWicketkeeper
Hardik Pandya (vice-captain)All-rounder
Shivam DubeAll-rounder
Axar PatelAll-rounder
Ravindra JadejaAll-rounder
Yuzvendra ChahalBowler
Kuldeep YadavBowler
Jasprit BumrahBowler
Arshdeep SinghBowler
Mohammed SirajBowler
Rahul DravidCoach

Reserve players for the India T20 World Cup Squad 2024

Player NameRole
Shubman GillBatsman
Rinku SinghBatsman
Khaleel AhmedBowler
Avesh KhanBowler

The Indian squad for the T20 World Cup 2024 is looking like a balanced squad with enough experienced campaigners and young guns. Captain Sharma, along with Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah is going to be the think tank of the team. 

All of these players have played on the biggest stage of international cricket, so they will be very crucial for keeping the dressing room calm and composed during tense moments. On the other hand, young blood like Jaiswal, Pant and Dube will add fearlessness and energy to the squad. 

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is going to take place in the Caribbean Islands for the second time and this time the USA will also host some matches of this World Cup. Team India will play their archrivals Pakistan at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on June 9, 2024. 

In the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, Team India is placed in Group A with Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and USA. Team India will begin their campaign against Ireland on June 5, 2024, in New York at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. Then they have to Play Pakistan, USA & Canada respectively.  

India’s Fixtures ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 – India’s Fixtures (Group A matches)
05-June-24WednesdayIndia vs IrelandNassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York
09-June-24SundayIndia vs PakistanNassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York
12-June-24WednesdayUSA vs IndiaNassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York
15-June-24SaturdayIndia vs CanadaCentral Broward Park & Broward County Stadium, Lauderhill

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is the 9th edition of the T20 World Cup. A total of six cricket-playing nations have won this tournament so far, with India being the first T20 World Cup champion and England being the latest winner, winning the 2022 edition. 

Continue reading

Is Ricky Ponting Going to Be India’s New Head Coach?

The former Australia cricket team captain and one of the great batsmen, Ricky Ponting, has revealed that he has been approached by the BCCI to be the head coach of the Indian team after Rahul Dravid’s period is over.   Ponting...

Who Won Yesterday IPL Match: Eliminator, RR vs RCB, Match 72, Check All Details

Rajasthan Royals defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets in the eliminator match of IPL 2024. The Royals won the toss and decided to bowl at the Narendra Modi Stadium. chose to bat first after winning the toss...

Purple Cap in IPL 2024: IPL Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

There is a famous saying in cricket “batters win you matches, but bowlers win you tournaments.” Great bowlers always played a significant part in a tournament win for their teams. This is why the IPL has the concept of...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.