Cricket NewsWorld CupNew Zealand T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Williamson will lead the team;...

New Zealand T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Williamson will lead the team; Kyle Jamison, Tom Latham, Colin Munro and Tim Seifert are left out

The 2021 edition finalist, New Zealand, was the first cricket team to announce their 2024 T20 World Cup squad. The Kiwis are one of the most consistent teams in this tournament, having reached four semifinals in the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup. 

But this time they will try to win this tournament under Kane Williamson, who captains this team in the fourth edition of this tournament. Tim Southee and Trent Boult are other experienced campaigners for New Zealand in this T20 World Cup. 

Pacer Adam Milne, all-rounder Kyle Jamieson, and batsman Tom Latham were all left out by the selectors. Kane Williamson, Finn Allen, and Devon Conway will make the top order of New Zealand in this T20 World Cup campaign. 

Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Daryll Mitchell, James Nisham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, and Mitchell Santer are all-rounders. The Kiwi bowling department will rely on Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tim Southee, and Ish Sodhi. 

New Zealand’s coach, Gary Stead, shows his belief in the selected players and is confident of having a good tournament ahead. After the selection of the team, he said, “I’d like to congratulate everyone named today. It’s a special time representing your country at a world tournament.”

“We expect the venues in the West Indies to offer quite varied conditions and feel we’ve selected a squad with the scope to adapt to those conditions.”

New Zealand T20 World Cup Squad 2024 

Players NameRole
Kane Williamson (Captain)Batter
Finn AllenBatter
Devon ConwayWicketkeeper
Michael BracewellAll-rounder
Mark ChapmanAll-rounder
Daryl MitchellAll-rounder
Jimmy NeeshamAll-rounder
Glenn PhillipsAll-rounder
Rachin RavindraAll-rounder
Mitchell SantnerAll-rounder
Trent BoultBowler
Lockie FergusonBowler
Matt HenryBowler
Ish SodhiBowler
Tim SoutheeBowler
Ben Sears (Reserve)Bowler
Gary SteadCOACH

In the last T20 World Cup, New Zealand reached the semi-finals, and this World Cup could be the last chance for veterans like Williamson, Southee, and Boult to win a World Cup. Hence, they will try their best to win this tournament. New Zealand is placed in Group C of this tournament with co-hosts West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea. The Black Caps will start their campaign on June 7 against Afghanistan. 

New Zealand’s Fixtures in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 – New Zealand’s Fixtures (Group B matches)
07-June-24Sunday New Zealand vs Afghanistan Providence Stadium, Guyana
02-June-24Wednesday New Zealand vs West IndiesTarouba, Trinidad and Tobago
14-June-24FridayNew Zealand vs UgandaTarouba, Trinidad and Tobago
17-June-24Monday Papua New Guinea  vs New ZealandTarouba, Trinidad and Tobago

Continue reading

Who Won Yesterday IPL Match: Eliminator, RR vs RCB, Match 72, Check All Details

Rajasthan Royals defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets in the eliminator match of IPL 2024. The Royals won the toss and decided to bowl at the Narendra Modi Stadium. chose to bat first after winning the toss...

Purple Cap in IPL 2024: IPL Purple Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

There is a famous saying in cricket “batters win you matches, but bowlers win you tournaments.” Great bowlers always played a significant part in a tournament win for their teams. This is why the IPL has the concept of...

IPL 2024 Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2024

The orange cap is one of the most prestigious awards in the Indian Premier League. This cap is given to the highest-scoring player of the tournament. Since the dawn of this tournament, there have been a total of 13...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.