Cricket NewsWorld CupODI World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)

ODI World Cup Winners List (1975 to 2023)

ODI World Cup Winners List: The ICC Men’s ODI Cricket World Cup is the first international tournament organized by the ICC to crown a world champion in cricket. This is why the ODI World Cup has a special place in the hearts of cricket fans. The first ODI World Cup took place in England in 1975, which was won by the West Indies. Since then, six different nations have won the ODI World Cup. Check out this ODI World Cup winners list to know whether your country has won the ODI World Cup or not.

About the ODI World Cup

The ICC World Cup is the most prestigious and biggest world event in cricket. It’s prepared once every four years in which nearly the sector’s ten great cricket teams participate. This opposition affects millions of cricket fans worldwide. The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup is a cricket competition that gives a platform for all cricket-playing countries to showcase their cricket-playing skills.

The first One Day World or ODI cricket was played between Australia and England on 5 January 1971 in Melbourne. After 2 years, the ICC (World Cricket Council) then called the World Cricket Conference decided to arrange the Cricket World Cup in 1975.

A total of 13 editions of the One Day World World Cups had been prepared and performed to this point. Among all the cricket World Cup list winners, Australia has gained the most editions with 6 editions, even as India and West Indies.

ODI World Cup winners list: Overview 

Cricket has become the most famous game in the world, after soccer. With every passing year, this game has taken the world by storm. That’s why more than 100 countries play this game. But the best 12 teams have obtained ICC popularity.

The ODI World Cup is the most important event that takes place in this game and was held for the very first time in 1975. Since then, it has taken place every four years. The report shows that Australia is the most successful team with 5 championships, followed by India and West Indies.

We will discuss here the winners of the ODI World Cup thus far. An overall of 13 editions have taken place, and the first crew to win the mega occasion was the West Indies in 1975. They made it in a row in 1979. 

ODI World Cup Winners List (1975-2023)

Here is the list of Men’s 50-over ODI Cricket World Cup victors spanning from 1975 to 2023, encompassing details of the winners, runners-up, host, total ratings, and the final results for every One Day World (ODI) final.

World Cup Winners List

YearHostWinnerWinners scoreRunner-upRunner-up ScoreResult
1975EnglandWest Indies291–8Australia274West Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest Indies286–9England194West Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndia183West Indies140India won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustralia253–5England246–8Australia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistan249–6England227Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri Lanka245–3Australia241Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustralia133–2Pakistan132Australia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustralia359–2India234Australia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustralia281–4Sri Lanka215–8Australia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndia277–4Sri Lanka274–6India won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustralia186–3New Zealand183Australia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEngland241New Zealand241–8The match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count
2023IndiaAustralia241-4India240Australia has lift the world cup trophy by defeating India with a convincing 6-wicket margin.-

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners listing, Country Wise

Australia stands as the most successful team in the ICC ODI World Cup, securing victory in 5 events and earning runner-up honors two times. The most current edition of the ICC ODI Men’s World Cup befell in 2019 in England and Wales. Here is the listing of ODI Cricket World Cup winners country-wise.

TeamNumber of ODI World Cup WonYears of ODI World Cup Won
Australia61987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 2023
India21983, 2011
New Zealand0
Sri Lanka11996
West Indies21975, 1979

World Cup Winners List Captain Wise

The table gives data on the number of times each cricket crew has won the ODI Cricket World Cup and the corresponding years of their victories. Australia leads the team. With an impressive 5 World Cup victories in the years 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015. Following intently is England, which secured its first-ever World Cup win in 2019.

India, with 2 successes in 1983 and 2011, holds a robust function, at the same time as New Zealand and Pakistan have each claimed the title once. Sri Lanka clinched victory in 1996, and the West Indies, a dominant force in the early years, won the match in 1975 and 1979. Here is the complete list of captain wise ODI cricket world cup winners.

1975West IndiesClive Lloyd
1979West IndiesClive Lloyd
1983IndiaKapil Dev
1987AustraliaAllan Border
1992PakistanImran Khan
1996Sri LankaArjuna Ranatunga
1999AustraliaSteve Waugh
2003AustraliaRicky Ponting
2007AustraliaRicky Ponting
2011IndiaMS Dhoni
2015AustraliaMichael Clarke
2019EnglandEoin Morgan
2023AustraliaPat Cummins


The world has got its ODI Cricket World Cup Winner 2023 on 19 November 2023. The ODI Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be performed in Narendra Modi Stadium (Ahmedabad, India). The first semifinal match was played between New Zealand and India on 15 November 2023, and India won the match by 70 runs. So, the results have been announced on 19 November 2023, and the ODI World Cup has been lifted by  Australia.

Read More:

Most runs in ODI World Cup by a player1983 World Cup Final scorecard India vs West indies
2011 World Cup final scorecard India vs Sri LankaInd vs Pak T20 World Cup 2024

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.