Cricket NewsWorld CupWomen's Cricket World Cup winners list from 1973 to 2023

Women’s Cricket World Cup winners list from 1973 to 2023

Women’s Cricket World Cup winners list: The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is a massive cricket match that started in England in 1973, making it the most important match in the history of women’s cricket. In this competition, groups from diverse international locations compete in One Day Internationals (ODIs).

Since 2005, the World Cup has been off every 4 years. The tournament normally has 8 teams, but in 2021, the ICC said it’s going to become 10 groups by 2029. Australia won the match in the women’s cricket world cup, with 7 wins.

The Women’s Cricket World Cup, can be taken to the center ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup stands as a notably esteemed occasion in women’s athletics, consistently drawing fierce opposition from the arena’s elite teams.

About Women’s Cricket World Cup

The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup is the game’s oldest world championship, with the first tournament held in England in 1973. Matches are played as One Day Internationals (ODIs) over 50 overs per team (though the primary five championships, from 1973 to 1993, were played at 60 overs per group). There is also a championship for T20 world cup cricket.

The World Cup is currently organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Until 2005, whilst the 2 companies merged, it became administered by a separate body, the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC). The first world cup was held in 1973 in England two years before the men’s match. The event’s early years have been marked by investment difficulties, which supposed several teams had to decline invitations to compete and brought about gaps of up to 6 years among tournaments. However, on account that 2005 World Cups have been hosted at normal 4-year intervals.

ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners List

Women’s cricket world cup is an international match of ODI career. The tournament is prepared by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and has been held every 4 years considering the fact that 1973. The recent champions are Australia, who gained the 2023 World Cup

The Women’s Cricket World Cup is one of the most prestigious tournaments in women’s recreation, and it’s far constantly keenly contested by the top groups in the world. The event has great records, and it’s been won by a number of the greatest women’s cricketers of all time. The Women’s Cricket World Cup is a world event, and it’s constantly watched by thousands and thousands of people around the world. The event is a great opportunity to showcase the expertise and competencies of the arena’s satisfactory women cricketers, and it is also a tremendous way to sell the game of cricket to a much broader audience.

Here are the world cup winners

  • Australia (8 times): 1978, 1982, 1997, 2005, 2013, 2017, 2022, 2023
  • England (4 times): 1973, 1993, 2009, 2017
  • New Zealand (1 time): 2000
  • West Indies (1 time): 1979
YearWinnerMargin Won ByRunners UpTop Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerHost CountryFinals Venue
2023Australia19 RunsSouth AfricaLaura WolvaardtSophie EcclestoneSouth AfricaNewlands, Cape Town
2022Australiaseventy one RunsEnglandAlyssa HealySophie EcclestoneNew ZealandHagley Oval, Christchurch
2017Englandnine RunsIndiaTammy BeaumontDane van NiekerkEnglandLord’s, London
2013Australia114 RunsWest IndiesSuzie BatesMegan SchuttIndiaBrabourne Stadium, Mumbai
2009Englandfour WicketsNew ZealandSarah TaylorLaura MarshAustraliaNorth Sydney Oval‎, ‎Sydney
2005Australia98 RunsIndiaCharlotte EdwardsNeetu DavidSouth AfricaSuperGame Park, Centurion
2000New Zealandfour RunsAustraliaKaren RoltonCharmaine MasonNew ZealandBert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln
1997Australia5 WicketsNew ZealandDebbie HockleyKatrina KeenanIndiaEden Gardens, Kolkata
1993England67 RunsNew ZealandJan BrittinKaren SmithiesEnglandLondon
1988Australia8 WicketsEnglandLindsay ReelerLyn FullstonAustraliaMelbourne Cricket Ground
1982Australiathree WicketsEnglandJan BrittinLyn FullstonNew ZealandLancaster Park, Christchurch
1978Australia8 WicketsEnglandMargaret JenningsSharyn HillIndiaLal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, Hyderabad
1973England92 RunsAustraliaEnid BakewellRosalind HeggsEnglandEdgbaston

Also Read: Under 19 World Cup Winners List || ODI World Cup Winners List

Interesting information about Women’s Cricket World Cup Winners

The Women’s Cricket World Cup is a huge event that receives humans enthusiastic about women’s games activities and shows how important and amusing women’s cricket may be.

  • Australia’s Big Wins: Australia is extremely good at cricket. They have received the World Cup often. This makes them a totally strong team in women’s cricket.
  • England’s Clever Victories: England has also received the World Cup sometimes. They play smart and win huge video games, displaying they’re one of the satisfactory groups too.
  • New Stars Rise: Teams like India, South Africa, and the West Indies have become a whole lot higher over the years. They’re winning more video games and making the World Cup more interesting due to the fact new teams are doing it properly.
  • T20 Games Add Fun: Adding T20 games to women’s cricket has made it even more popular. T20 games are short and fast, and lots of people enjoy looking at them. This has introduced more interest and cash to women’s cricket.
  • More Than Just Cricket: The Women’s Cricket World Cup isn’t just about cricket. It enables combat for the same rights for women and shows that women can attain great matters. It also encourages more women to play games.
  • Heroes Are Born: Women cricketers have turned out to be heroes for many people. They display how games activities can deliver people together and encourage change in the world.

Read Also: ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List || Most Runs In T20 World Cup 2024


The ICC Women’s World Cup is the oldest world championship in the game and is presently prepared by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The first edition was played in England in 1973 with 7 teams.

The Women’s World Cup was held at irregular durations between 1973 and 2000, however from 2005 onwards, each edition has been played with a 4-year gap between tournaments. The Australia women’s cricket group dominates the Women’s World Cup winners list, with a record of 7 titles (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997, 2005, 2013, and 2022). They are also the only team to win 3 editions in a row.

England are 2nd on the Women’s World Cup winners listing, with 4 titles. They hosted and won the inaugural Women’s World Cup under the captaincy of Rachael Heyhoe Flint. England are the most effective side to host and win a Women’s World Cup on 3 or more activities (1973, 1993 and 2017).

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.