Cricket NewsWorld CupUnder 19 World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

Under 19 World Cup Winners List (1988 to 2024)

Under 19 World Cup Winners List: ICC U19 World Cup is one of the most interesting battles in cricket. The younger players from various countries participate in this prestigious tournament. 1988 marked the start of the mega-match match played in Australia. England’s Mike Atherton, Nasser Hussain and Mark Ramprakash, Australia’s Stuart Law and Pakistan’s Inzamam-ul-Haq put out a roadmap for numerous cricketers of their age group.

ICC U19 World Cup has become one of the most important systems for the generation of cricketers to get selected at an international level. This match provided a great opportunity for the youngsters who have been trying to make a big name for themselves in the game. Since 1998, the International Cricket Council has been organizing the u-19 match after each 2 years.

Overall, there were 14 editions of the U-19 World Cup to have finished till date (final up to date 9th February 2024) and the most successful team from them is India U-19 with 5 (5) titles, while they’ve also made the finals on three different matches. Australia U-19 is the next best group with 3 titles to their name at the same time as Pakistan has gained twice and Bangladesh, England, South Africa, West Indies have gained once each!

The last match to have taken place was the 2022 ICC U-19 World Cup, wherein India U-19 beat England U-19 in a low-scoring final in Antigua in the West Indies. The 2024 U19 CWC is another principal junior match on the calendar, taking place in South Africa. Let’s read this blog and learn about the U-19 World Cup winners.

Let’s examine the winners of the ICC U19 World Cup thus far.

About Under 19 Cricket World Cup

The U-19 cricket World Cup began in 1988 and is considered an emerging cricket game. Initially beginning with 8 teams, it extended to 16 teams in 1998 and has persevered in this layout. The tournament has witnessed the rise of many future cricketing legends and is critical in the careers of young players.

Under 19 World Cup 2024 Highlights

Under 19 World Cup 202415th edition
Season opener venueMangaung Oval, Bloemfontein
Total league matches37
Total matches  played40
Total match duration23 Days
Final match timing1:30 PM IST
Total teams14
OrganizerICC (International Cricket Council)

Read More: ODI World Cup Winners List || ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List

ICC Under 19 World Cup winners list: Know all of the champions from (1988-2024)

The ICC Men’s U-19 Cricket World Cup 2024 is set to begin on January 19 in South Africa. Cricket South Africa will serve as the host for the 15th edition of this prestigious match. 16 teams are set to partake in the 50-overs per-side format, giving a widespread platform for opportunities and potential stars to show off their abilities on the global level. The competition includes 41 matches, and the top 12 teams emerging from the pool range will improve to the brilliant six level. Reflecting on the beyond 14 variants, the tournament has witnessed the introduction of several good-sized information and milestones. Here is a list of Under 19 World Cup winners from 1998 to now

1998EnglandNew ZealandSouth Africa
2000IndiaSri LankaSri Lanka
2002AustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand
2004PakistanWest IndiesBangladesh
2006PakistanIndiaSri Lanka
2008IndiaSouth AfricaMalaysia
2010AustraliaPakistanNew Zealand
2014South AfricaPakistanUAE
2016West IndiesIndiaBangladesh
2018IndiaAustraliaNew Zealand
2020BangladeshIndiaSouth Africa
2022IndiaEnglandWest Indies
2024AustraliaIndiaSouth Africa

Most successful team in ICC U-19 World Cup: By every country

CountryNo. Of Under-19 World CupsWinning Years
India52000, 2008, 2012, 2018, 2022
Australia41988, 2002, 2010, 2024
Pakistan22004, 2006
South Africa12014
West Indies12016

U-19 World Cup Final Match highlights

India, a dominant force in Under 19 cricket, faltered in their bid to keep their name, no matter boasting a rich record in the match with a record 5 championship wins. The defeat marked a poignant second for the younger Indian team led by Uday Saharan, who entered the final as favorites following an excellent performance in the course of the match.

In a display of unwavering sportsmanship, former India Under 19 World Cup-winning captain Unmukt Chand extended his heartfelt support to the junior group through social media. Chand, who led India to victory in 2012, counseled the team’s tremendous overall performance, urging them to research and move forward, notwithstanding the disappointment of the loss.

The match’s inception dates lower back to 1988 whilst Australia emerged triumphant in opposition to Pakistan in the inaugural edition. However, the opposition confronted a record of 10 years earlier than resuming, contributing to its wealthy legacy of nurturing young cricketing talent on the global level.

Titles per team in U-19 World Cup

Team India has been the Under-19 World Cup winner for the most number of times, being crowned the champions in 4 matches. Following India is Australia which has gained the championship 3 times. While Pakistan has been the winner twice, West Indies, England, Bangladesh and South Africa have received the Under 19 World Cup winner title once each. Here is the list of U-19 World Cup winners list.

West Indies1

How did India win the U-19 world cup?

As mentioned, India has hooked up its dominance in the U19 Cricket World Cup. The younger Men in Blue gained their first title in 2000 beneath the captaincy of Mohammad Kaif. Apart from Kaif, Yuvraj Singh, Reetinder Sodhi, and Ajay Ratra went on to symbolize the senior team.

Virat Kohli added the honor of second again in 2008 beneath his captaincy by defeating South Africa in the very last. Kohli later also led the Indian country team to many more memorable wins on the international level.

After 4 years, Unmukt Chand led the India U19 team to their third title triumph. The captain led the team from the front in the very last over with a great century towards Australia, but despite his batting exploits, he couldn’t make it into the senior side.

Also Read: Highest Team Scores in T20 World Cup Till 2024 || Most runs in ODI World Cup by a player

Final thoughts

The Under-19 Cricket World Cup is an esteemed match showcasing the game’s future stars. The International Cricket Council, abbreviated because the ICC, organises the match, and due to the fact 1988, the match has been held biennially wherein teams compete in a round and knockout format for competition. The participating teams are determined by regional tournaments and ratings to take part in the Under-19 World Cup. The match has produced many leading cricketers who later went in advance and represented their respective countries at the highest level, including the likes of Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Shikhar Dhawan, Steve Smith, and so forth.

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.