Cricket NewsWorld CupWest Indies T20 World Cup Squad 2024: All Players List

West Indies T20 World Cup Squad 2024: All Players List

The two-time t20 world champions and co-host of the 2024 T20 World Cup West Indies have announced their squad for the upcomi ng mega event in the Caribbean islands. The Windies selectors have chosen a 15-member squad with a balance of experience and youth. 

The selection of Shamar Joseph is the most surprising inclusion in the team. The youngster made his mark in international cricket in the series against Australia earlier this year. Shimron Hetmyer also got a call back from the West Indies board which is a good decision considering his recent performances in the IPL for Rajasthan Royals

The West Indies team has Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russell and Jason Holder like hitters in their squad. Akail Hosein and Alzarri Joseph will lead the bowling attack for the West Indies in this T20 World Cup. The West Indies Cricket Board has been taking this T20 World Cup seriously and this is why they have made some big calls during selections. 

Their director of cricket, Desmond Haynes, spoke about this. “We had a very long discussion with the situation of the batting line-up,” he said. “I want to state very clearly that our focus has always been (on) roles – roles that we want people to play. The situation of someone like Shamar Joseph, you really can’t question someone like him, we saw him in Australia. He ticked the boxes for us. 

“It was some very close decisions, regarding the selection of Kyle Mayers and Shimron Hetmyer – but we looked at who we wanted the extra batter batting down the order.”

West Indies T20 World Cup Squad 2024 

Players NameRole
Rovman Powell (Captain)Batter
Johnson CharlesBatter
Shimron HetmyerBatter
Brandon KingBatter
Sherfane RutherfordBatter
Shai HopeWicketkeeper
Nicholas PooranWicketkeeper
Roston ChaseAll-rounder
Jason HolderAll-rounder
Andre RussellAll-rounder
Romario ShepherdAll-rounder
Alzarri JosephBowler
Akeal HoseinBowler
Shamar JosephBowler
Gudakesh MotieBowler
Darren SammyCoach

This West Indian squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup is looking like a decent team with experienced campaigners like Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran. There are some young talents too who can set the stage on fire on their day; for instance, Shamar Joseph; everybody knows what he is capable of. 

The West Indies Cricket Board has chosen a decent squad and now it is up to these players to bring the T20 World Cup back to the Caribbean Islands since their 2016 triumph. The West Indies team will start their World Cup campaign on June 2, 2024, against Papua New Guinea.

Fixtures of West Indies in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 – West Indies Fixtures (Group C matches)
02-June-24Sunday West Indies vs Papua New Guinea  Providence, Guyana
09-June-24SundayWest Indies vs UgandaProvidence, Guyana
13-June-24Thursday West Indies vs New ZealandTarouba, Trinidad and Tobago
18-June-24SaturdayWest Indies vs Afghanistan Gros Islet, Saint Lucia

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is the 9th edition of the T20 World Cup and the West Indies is the joint most successful team in this tournament, winning it two times in 2012 and 2016.

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.