Cricket NewsWorld CupSri Lanka T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Complete List of Team Players...

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Squad 2024: Complete List of Team Players and Name

The Lankan Lions are all set to roar at the T20 World Cup 2024 with their talented and skillful 15-member squad. As all teams are announcing their T20 World Cup squad Sri Lanka Cricket Board also takes its step forward and announces the 15-men squad for the T20 World Cup 2024. Sri Lanka T20 World Cup Squad 2024 goes up with lots of experience and talented youth, which makes a destructive team of all-time for the World Cup.

Leading the charge will be the energetic all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga who knows how to spin the batsman with this bowling and plays with the bowler’s mind with his batting skills. Hasaranga’s forceful turn bowling and power-hitting lower down the order make him a central figure in this Sri Lankan side.

The Sri Lanka team is all set for the World Cup with its squad and making the squad more powerful and aggressive the selectors have decided to bring back the legendary player of and the great talent “Angelo Mathews”. Angelo Mathews is one of the greatest and most veteran players of the Sri Lankan teams just because of his all-rounding performance with bat and ball. He is back within the T20I setup after three years of being out of the team and now he is added again to the Sri Lanka T20 World Cup squad 2024. This will be his 6th T20 World Cup appearance, having been a part of Sri Lanka’s championship run in 2014. 

The Sri Lanka team won their last ICC title in the year 2014 and it was the T20 World Cup and now after 10 years of a gap they are looking forward to repeating history by winning the T20 World Cup again. The team is well-balanced with the most experienced players and looking forward to capturing the T20 World Cup with the new Sri Lanka captain Wanidu Hasaranga. Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Thushara bring an energizing component to the bowling line-up. Dushmantha Chameera and Dilshan Madushanka lead the pace department.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup squad 2024

Players Role 
Pathum NissankaBatsman
Sadeera SamarawickramaBatsman
Charith Asalanka (Vice Captain) Batsman/All-rounder
Kusal MendisWicketkeeper/Batsman
Wanindu Hasaranga (Captain)  All-rounder
Kamindu MendisAll-rounder
Angelo MathewsAll-rounder
Dasun ShanakaAll-rounder
Dhananjaya De SilvaAll-rounder
Maheesh TheekshanaBowler
Dunith WellalageBowler
Dushmantha ChameeraBowler
Nuwan ThusharaBowler
Matheesha PathiranaBowler
Dilshan MadushankaBowler 
Chris SilverwoodHead Coach

The Head coach of the team Chris Silverwood is nurturing and making the team more powerful and well-balanced by adding experienced and emerging talents. The pace attack will be led by the talented bowler of the team Nuwan Thushara and with some spin attacks captain himself can make a great impact on the all-rounding performance there will be no doubt on veteran and well-experienced player Angelo Mathews. The Sri Lanka team is in Group D with South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal and their first match is on June 3rd against South Africa in New York. Down near you can find the Matchday and Match date of the Sri Lanka team. 

Sri Lanka Fixtures in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 –  Sri Lanka Fixtures (Group D matches)
03-June-24Monday Sri Lanka vs South Africa Nassau County International Cricket Stadium, New York 
07-June-24Friday Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh Dallas, USA 
11-June-24Tuesday Sri Lanka vs Nepal Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground, Lauderhill
16-June-24Sunday Sri Lanka vs Netherlands Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.