Cricket NewsIPLYesterday's IPL Match Result DC vs. GT Match No. 40: Who Won...

Yesterday’s IPL Match Result DC vs. GT Match No. 40: Who Won Yesterday IPL Match 2024 Result

Yesterday IPL match result: Delhi Capitals beat Gujarat Titans by 4 runs in match no. 40 of IPL 2024. This match was played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, where Gujarat Titans won the toss and decided to bowl first and they bowled brilliantly in the powerplay, taking 3 wickets and restricting Delhi below 50 runs. But Axar and Rishabh took Delhi into the commanding position and DC finished their innings with a great total of 224/4 in 20 overs. In response, Gujarat also played brilliantly; Sai Sudarshan and David Miller fought hard but could not win the game for their team and GT lost the match by just 4 runs. Rishabh Pant was named Man of the Match for his knock of 88* runs in 43 deliveries. 

Match Summary: Yesterday’s IPL Match Result  DC vs. GT Match No. 40: Who Won Yesterday’s IPL Match? 

The second meeting between Delhi and Gujarat in this IPL season was held at Delhi’s home ground, the Arun Jaitley Stadium. Gujarat won the toss and invited Delhi to bat, and their decision to bowl first was proven to be right for the initial stage of the innings when they took Delhi’s three wickets in powerplay overs. But from there, Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel joined hands and took charge of the excelling DC’s innings, both forming a hundred-run partnership and laying a great foundation for a big total. Axcar got out in the 17th over; he made 66 off 43, but Rishabh remained not out till the end, scoring 88 runs off 43 balls, but it took Tristin Stubbs’ cameo of 26 off 7 balls to take Delhi to 224/4 in 20 overs. 

Sandeep Warrier proved to be the lone warrior in GT’s bowling attack, taking 3 wickets in 3 overs for just 15 runs. Coming down to chase such a big target, Gujarat lost their captain in the second over of the innings at a score of just 13. But Saha and Sai Sudharshan hold up the GT’s run chase and keep them on track. Saha got out in their 10th over on the individual score of 39, but Sudharshan kept Gujarat’s hop alive until the 13th over, when he got out, scoring 65 runs off 39 balls. After Sudhrashan Miller took charge of chasing the target in his hands and smashing Delhi’s bowlers all over the park, he also got out after scoring fifty in the 18th over; he made 55 in just 23 balls. 

After his dismissal, Gujarat’s inning derailed from their track, although Rashid showed some great shots towards the end of the inning. But that proved to be not enough to win this match. Gujarat lost this match by a small margin of just 4 runs. Rasikh Salam and Kuldeep Yadav’s middle-over wickets deliver the game for DC. Both shared five wickets between them. Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar and Axar Patel got one wicket each. 

Yesterday IPL Match Scorecard 

Delhi Capitals Batting 

Prithvi Shawc Noor Ahmad b Sandeep Warrier11720157.14
Jake Fraser-McGurkc Noor Ahmad b Sandeep Warrier231422164.28
Axar Patelc Sai Kishore b Noor Ahmad664354153.48
Shai Hopec Rashid Khan b Sandeep Warrier561083.33
Rishabh Pant (c)not out884358204.65
Tristan Stubbsnot out26732371.42
Extras(lb 2, w 3)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 11.20)224/4

Gujarat Titans Bowling 

Azmatullah Omarzai43308.25
Sandeep Warrier31535
Rashid Khan43508.75
Noor Ahmad336112
Mohit Sharma473018.25
M Shahrukh Khan1808
Sai Kishore122022

Gujarat Titans Batting 

Wriddhiman Sahac Patel b Kuldeep Yadav392551156
Shubman Gill (c)c Patel b Nortje6510120
Sai Sudharsanc Patel b Rasikh Salam653972166.66
Azmatullah Omarzaic Fraser-McGurk b Patel120050
David Millerc Rasikh Salam b Mukesh Kumar552363239.13
M Shahrukh Khanc †Pant b Rasikh Salam8501160
Rahul Tewatiac †Pant b Kuldeep Yadav450080
Rashid Khannot out211131190.9
Sai Kishoreb Rasikh Salam13602216.66
Mohit Sharmanot out0000
Extras(lb 4, nb 1, w 3)8
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 11.00)220/8

Delhi Capitals Bowling 

Khaleel Ahmed226013
Anrich Nortje348116
Rasikh Salam444311
Mukesh Kumar441110.25
Axar Patel32819.33
Kuldeep Yadav42927.25

Yesterday IPL Match: Man of the Match

Rishabh Pant was chosen man of the match after his undefeated 88-run innings in the Delhi Capitals vs. Gujarat Titans game. 

PlayerTeamBowling Figures 
Rishabh PantDC88* (43)

Yesterday IPL Match Most Runs 

Rishabh Pant was the top run scorer in the DC vs. GT game at Arun Jaitley Stadium, scoring 88* on just 43 balls. 

Rishabh PantDC88* (43)

Yesterday IPL Match Most Wickets 

Sandeep Warrier and Rasikh Salam took the most wickets in last night’s encounter between DC and GT.

PlayerTeamBowling Figures 
Sandeep WarrierGT3/15 (3)
Rasikh SalamDC3/44 (4)

Yesterday IPL Match Most Sixes

The DC vs. GT game featured some amazing hitting, but Rishabh Pant was the finest six-hitter on the field, hammering eight sixes in his 88*-run innings. 

Rishabh PantDC8

Yesterday IPL Match Playing XIs 

Delhi Capitals  Playing XI – Prithvi Shaw, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Abishek Porel, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar

Impact Substitute: Rashikh Salam (IN)  – Prithvi Shaw (OUT)

Gujarat Titans  Playing XI– Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill(c), David Miller, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rahul Tewatia, Shahrukh Khan, Rashid Khan, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Warrier

Impact Substitute: Sai Sudharsan (IN) – Sandeep Warrier (OUT)

Continue reading

Ind vs Pak T20 World Cup 2024: Date, Time, Venue and Other Key Factors

Ind vs Pak T20 World Cup 2024 : The T20 World Cup 2024 will be performed in June throughout 9 stadiums in the West Indies and the USA. The tournament will kick-start on June 1 in Dallas with hosts...

Is Ricky Ponting Going to Be India’s New Head Coach?

The former Australia cricket team captain and one of the great batsmen, Ricky Ponting, has revealed that he has been approached by the BCCI to be the head coach of the Indian team after Rahul Dravid’s period is over.   Ponting...

Who Won Yesterday IPL Match: Eliminator, RR vs RCB, Match 72, Check All Details

Rajasthan Royals defeated the Royal Challengers Bangalore by four wickets in the eliminator match of IPL 2024. The Royals won the toss and decided to bowl at the Narendra Modi Stadium. chose to bat first after winning the toss...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.