Cricket NewsNewsIND vs ZIM: For the T20Is against Zimbabwe, the Shubhman Gill-led team...

IND vs ZIM: For the T20Is against Zimbabwe, the Shubhman Gill-led team of India arrives in Harare

A young Indian squad under the direction of VVS Laxman arrived in Zimbabwe on Tuesday, July 2. This young Indian team will be led by Shubhman Gill. Under his captainship, India has come to play a five-match T20I series against Zimbabwe, which will start on July 6.

After a break, Captain Gill, a traveling reserve with the T20 World Cup squad, came here from New York; the rest of the team had departed Mumbai on Tuesday.

In a video uploaded on X by Zimbabwe Cricket, the Indian team was seen leaving the airport carrying their bags.

โ€œWe welcome T20 World Cup champions India,โ€ wrote Zimbabwe Cricket on Tuesday night in a post on โ€˜Xโ€™. 

In a video released by the BCCI, young batsman Riyan Parag, who will be playing for India in the series, stated that he had always dreamed of traveling like this (with the national side).

โ€œThe feel of donning India jersey, traveling with the side is different. Coming from Assam, I had this dream of playing for India. Really happy. There will be a special connection for Zimbabwe when I play my first match. That will be a special moment for that ground and myself, which would be very sacred,โ€ he said.

โ€œAfter misplacing my passport, to phones, we are finally here after a 20-hour journey. Now, really looking forward to the tour,โ€ Parag added.

Another newcomer, medium pacer Tushar Deshpande, said โ€œThe feeling of being in the national setup is slowly sinking in and itโ€™s like a dream come true for me. Playing for the country is a very special thing.โ€

โ€œTravelling with the team is the most important and getting to know them, knowing the atmosphere of the team and most important for me is the fun we have during travel,โ€ added Deshpande.

Abhishek Sharma, a big-hitting left-hander, said he had only one desire when he started playing cricket: to play for his country.

India will play its first T20 match against Zimbabwe on July 6 at the Harare Cricket Ground. The remaining four games will be played at the same venue. The series will end on July 14.

India Squad for Zimbabwe Tour 2024 

แšhubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Shivam Dube, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande

  • Explore tags โŸถ
  • News

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as Indiaโ€™s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.