Cricket NewsWorld CupWho Won Yesterday Match T20 World Cup 2024: PNG vs UGA Match...

Who Won Yesterday Match T20 World Cup 2024: PNG vs UGA Match No. 9

Who Won Yesterday Match T20 World Cup 2024: Uganda defeated Papua New Guinea by 3 wickets in a thrilling encounter at Providence Stadium. In match no. 9 of the T20 World Cup 2024, Uganda won the toss and decided to bowl first. After getting an invitation to bat, PNG batters struggled to stay on the wicket, and the whole team got bundled out on 77 runs in just 19.1 overs.

In response to such an easy-looking target, Uganda’s batting lineup crumbled, and half of the team was in the pavilion for the score of just 26 runs. But Riazat Ali Shah’s early efforts and Juma Miyagi’s late cameo came in handy for Uganda in the run chase, and they defeated PNG in a nail-biting encounter. 

Who Won Yesterday Match: PNG vs UGA Scorecard

PNG Batting 

Assad Vala (c)lbw b Ramjani02000
Tony Urac Mukasa b Kyewuta160016.66
Sese Bauc Mukasa b Miyagi591055.55
Lega Siakarun out (Kyewuta/†Ssesazi)12171070.58
Hiri Hirilbw b Nsubuga15192078.94
Charles Aminib Nsubuga5140035.71
Kiplin Doriga lbw b Ramjani12200160
Chad Soperb Masaba4110036.36
Norman Vanuac Ssesazi b Kyewuta5100050
Alei Naob Miyagi560083.33
John Karikonot out02000
Extras(b 4, lb 8, nb 1)13
TOTAL19.1 Ov (RR: 4.01)77

UGA Bowling 

Alpesh Ramjani411724.25
Cosmas Kyewuta3.101725.36
Juma Miyagi401022.5
Brian Masaba401714.25
Frank Nsubuga42421

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024 Points Table || Most wickets in T20 World Cup 2024

UGA Batting 

Roger Mukasalbw b Nao03000
Simon Ssesazi lbw b Nao130033.33
Robinson Obuyac Vala b Vanua120050
Riazat Ali Shahc Kariko b Vanua33561058.92
Alpesh Ramjanib Soper8101080
Dinesh Nakranic & b Vala03000
Juma Miyagirun out (Vanua/Nao)13160081.25
Kenneth Waiswanot out7160043.75
Brian Masaba (c)not out01000
Extras(w 15)15
TOTAL18.2 Ov (RR: 4.25)78/7

PNG Bowling 

Alei Nao401624
Norman Vanua401924.75
Chad Soper401313.25
Assad Vala201015
John Kariko401804.5
Charles Amini0.20206

Yesterday T20 World Cup Man of the Match

Riazat Ali Shah was named player of the match for his crucial 33-run knock that helped Uganda win the match against PNG.  

PlayerTeamBatting Figures
Riazat Ali ShahUGA33 (56)

Yesterday T20 World Cup Match Most Runs 

Riazat Ali Shah was the top scorer in the T20 World Cup game between Uganda and PNG. He scored 33 runs on 56 balls. 

Riazat Ali ShahUGA33 (56)

Yesterday T20 World Cup Match Most Wickets 

In Uganda’s match against PNG, Alpesh Ramjani was the best bowler of the game, with bowling figures of 2/17 in four overs. 

PlayerTeamBowling Figures
Alpesh RamjaniUGA2/17 (4)

Yesterday T20 World Cup Match Most Sixes 

In the match between Uganda and PNG, the bowlers were the dominant party, and the batters struggled to score runs. The most prominent sign of the bowlers’ dominance in this game was that no batsman except PNG’s Kiplin Doriga hit a six in this match. 

Kiplin DorigaPNG1

Yesterday T20 World Cup Match Playing XIs 

PNG  Playing XITony Ura, Assad Vala (C), Lega Siaka, Sese Bau, Hiri Hiri, Kiplin Doriga, Charles Amini, Norman Vanua (In place of Kabua Morea), Alei Nao, Chad Soper, John Kariko 

UGA Playing XISimon Ssesazi, Roger Mukasa, Robinson Obuya, Dinesh Nakrani, Riazat Ali Shah, Alpesh Ramjani, Kenneth Waiswa, Brian Masaba (C), Juma Miyagi, Cosmas Kyewuta, Frank Nsubuga

Match Details: PNG vs UGA, Match No. 9 T20 World Cup 2024 

VenueProvidence Stadium, Guyana
TossUganda, elected to field first
TournamentICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024
Player of the MatchRiazat Ali Shah (IND)
Match numberMatch No. 7 T20 World Cup 2024
UmpiresAdrian Holdstock  (SA)
Rashid Riaz (PAK)
TV UmpireAhsan Raza (PAK)
Reserve UmpireKumar Dharmasena (PAK)
Match RefereeJavagal Srinath (IND)

Continue reading

India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI

Ind vs Pak Head to Head in T20I Ind vs Pak Head to Head in ODI Ind vs Pak Head to Head in Test India vs Pakistan Head to Head Record in ODI: The biggest rivals of each other, India and Pakistan,...

Hardik Pandya will captain Team India in the T20I series against Sri Lanka

The three-match T20 series between India and Sri Lanka begins on July 27, and star all-rounder Hardik Pandya is expected to captain the Indian team in this series. Pandya was one of the pillars of India's success in the...

Hardik Pandya or Suryakumar Yadav? Who will replace Rohit Sharma as India’s next T20 captain?

Indian cricket is in trouble just days after T20 World Cup-winning captain Rohit Sharma announced his retirement from the game. Should they put the team's vice-captain, Hardik Pandya, in charge, or the premier batter Suryakumar Yadav? The decision must...

Enjoy exclusive access to all of our content

Get an online subscription and you can unlock any article you come across.